If we cross Odos Philhellinon into Odhos Kydhathinaion, which is opposite the Anglican Church and leads into the Plaka we will see on the right of Odos Kydhathinaion the principal church in this quarter of Old Athens, Sotyra tou Kottaki, originally a cruciform church erected in the thirteenth century by the prominent family of Kottakis.
During the reign of King Othon the large old house at No. 11 was for many years the splendid private residence of the Russian Charge d’ Affaires. Lower down, at No. 27, wee see the perfectly preserved old house built by loannis Paparrighopoulos who was a diplomat in the service of the Czar and one of the earliest members of the Philiki Etaireia (Society of Friends), the secret organization that made all the preparations for the Greek Revolution of 1821.
Continuing along this street we come to Plateia Philomoussou, in the center of which is a marble bust of the great Athenian historian Demetrios Kambouroglou. A little farther on we turn right into Odos Adrianou, the most exclusive residential street in Athens in the first years of the nineteenth century. The first street on the left is Odos Hill, which commemorates the American missionary the Reverend John Henry Hill and his wife Frances, who in 1831 founded the well known girls’ school that bears their name. If we decide to continue our walk through the heart of the old town towards the ruins of the Roman Agora (market place) we will have the opportunity to explore a bigger part of ancient Athens.